Finishing Touches and Final Thoughts

It seems hard to believe that this is the last blog post for this class. This was my first EC&I class and my first class with Alec and Katia. It ended being a bit of whirlwind, but I have a lot to take away from this course.

The course prototype project was a very big undertaking, but a really beneficial experience. Instead of taking material that I had taught before, and then digitizing it, I decided to create an all-new course – one that I had been thinking about doing for a while – on mindfulness and mental health. I discuss my rationale in more detail in my course profile. My big goal with this course was to make it as ‘user-friendly’ and ‘class-ready’ as possible. This made it a bit more work, but I think it is way more likely to be used in the future.

Screen Shot 2017-04-10 at 9.47.35 PMThe feedback I received was very positive and I hope that other teachers are able to use and continue to build on what I started. One of the critiques I got was on organizing the content using Google Classroom. The main page stream is chronological, so it can be a bit confusing. Even though I reviewed Google Classroom as the LMS I would use, I never came across that problem until I tried to put all the content on the page at once. I made a few alterations and used the topics sidebar to help. In reality, this problem wouldn’t be so bad with a synchronous course, but when using Google Classroom asynchronously, this can be a bit of an issue.

For the prototype project, I worked alone, but if I was to do it again, I would have tried to get into a group. It was really cool to see what other people were doing and it was an honour to learn from so many talented people in this class.

So for this final post, I leave you with two things:

  1. My Course Prototype: Here is my course profile and a unit plan outline document for people who are interested. If you want to see my course to see more of the resources, videos, and planning, the Google Classroom Student Code is: b96xkk
  2. My Summary of Learning: I wanted to included a few key learnings that I have been thinking about all semester that tie into blended learning and my own teaching. I also decided to have a little fun with this project. My inspiration for this video was cheesy 80’s workplace safety videos. So, hopefully I captured the essence of that in my summary of learning video. If you have 6 and a half minutes to spare, check out “The Blended Learning Minute”.

Thanks for reading.

One thought on “Finishing Touches and Final Thoughts

  1. THAT WAS AWESOME!!! So well done Graham! You have quite the group of actors in that room of yours! Also, I wanted to start singing “Body Break” during the musical interludes! A++! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

