The Journey Begins

Hey everyone! Welcome to my first blog post for EC&I 834.

Who am I?

My name is Graham Brace. I am a grade 5/6 teacher at Judge Bryant School in Regina. I have been teaching for 6 years, all at Judge Bryant in Middle Years. I enjoy teaching all subject areas, coaching, outdoor education, and integrating technology in my classroom as best I can. On my own time, I enjoy watching sports (especially the Leafs), reading, listening to music, camping, hiking, traveling, and, as of this past July, spending time with my beautiful wife, Kayley.

img_0087

Why take EC&I 834?

EC&I is my 8th course of my Master’s degree. I am also taking a second course this semester, so, if all goes according to plan, I will be finished my program by the summer (and oh what a summer it will be). My Master’s degree is in Educational Psychology, so I have spent the majority of my degree taking EPSY courses, which I have really enjoyed. I had the opportunity to take an 800-level class as an elective to finish up my program and I decided to try going outside of the EPSY department for a bit of a change. I am hoping that a course like this can be directly applicable to my current teaching position and the students in my class. I am also interested in the potential that online technology poses in the world of educational psychology. Technology can be an incredible asset to all learners, but presents a unique opportunity for creating equity among students with various learning difficulties. Many barriers can be overcome with the use of technology.  Whether it is using assistive technology in the classroom or providing online counselling to remote, northern communities, I think we can explore ways to utilize technology in educational, psychological areas. I am excited to use what I learn in this course to connect to my other areas of study, as well as to my teaching practice.

What are my goals for EC&I 834?

In my experience, one of the best parts about learning is that you are not always aware of and cannot always precisely plan what and how you will learn. I look forward to seeing all the different learnings that I leave with at the end of this course. This semester, I hope to:

  1. Become a more active online participant. Like most people, I use and interact with technology and online learning everyday. However, I notice that I am a very passive user. I browse, I read, I will occasionally retweet, but rarely do I comment and engage purposely. I often tell students that they need to be active participants in their learning. I hope this class helps me engage more in learning online.
  2. Create an online course, deliver contact, and provide feedback and assessment using appropriate online tools.
  3. Gather resources and learn skills to use them in my teaching career.. I am excited to see what this course has to offer in terms of tools, ideas, and people that I will be able to use to help me achieve my third goal. I think that online/blended learning is only going to become more prevalent in our world and I want to be equipped to adapt my teaching moving forward. I am interested in seeing how this element helps me professionally and the impact it could have on the learning environment of my students now and in the future.

I look forward to learning from and with each of you. Feel free to follow me on Twitter for mediocrely funny tweets, Leafs updates, and retweets from people way smarter than I.

Thanks for reading!

P.S. If I could be anyone else in the world, I would be the kid in this video. Amazing song, even better scenery.

Leave a Reply

